Guest Speaker

Researchers

Researchers are organized by the faculty of their primary appointment. To search by keywords, follow the instructions below.

  1. PC Users

    • Open one or more of the faculty lists of interest.
    • Press Ctrl+F to open the find bar.
    • Click Highlight All for terms that match your search to be highlighted.
    • Type the word(s) you want to find in the Find in Page field, press Enter.
    • Use the up and down arrows to move to each match on the page.
    • Click Esc to close the find bar.
  2. Mac Users

    • Open one or more of the faculty lists of interest.
    • Press Command+F to open the find bar.
    • Click Highlight All for terms that match your search to be highlighted.
    • Type the word(s) you want to find in the Find in Page field, press Return.
    • Use the up and down arrows to move to each match on the page.
    • Click Esc to close the find bar.
  1. A-H

    Philip Barber
    pabarber@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-3881
    Dementia and cognitive disorders, stroke
    Learn More

    Reed Beall
    reed.beall@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4736
    Equitable drug innovation and access
    Learn More

    Emma Billington
    eobillin@ucalgary.ca
    Osteoporosis, fracture risk estimation, bone mineral density
    Learn More

    Veronica Bruno
    veronica.bruno@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-7572
    Movement disorders, Parkinson’s disease
    Learn More

    Darren Burback
    dburback@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 943-4881
    Geriatric medicine, medical education
    Learn More

    Kirsten Fiest
    kmfiest@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 944-0747
    Psychiatric and cognitive outcomes, critical care, mental health, delirium
    Learn More

    Christine Friedenreich
    christine.friedenreich@ahs.ca
    (403) 698-8009
    Cancer epidemiology, prevention, physical activity
    Learn More

    Zahra Goodarzi
    zgoodarz@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 944-3277
    Geriatric medicine, dementia and cognitive disorders, movement disorders
    Learn More

    Bradley Goodyear
    goodyear@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 944-8354
    Epilepsy, movement disorders, multiple sclerosis, traumatic brain injury
    Learn More

    Heather Hanson
    hmhanson@ucalgary.ca
    Mobility, prevention of falls and fractures, health promotion decision-making
    Learn More

    Brenda Hemmelgarn
    bhemmelg@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-6664
    Health services, chronic kidney disease and other health conditions
    Learn More

    David Hogan
    dhogan@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8474
    Geriatric medicine, health services, gerontechnology, social policy, environmental design
    Learn More

    Jayna Holroyd-Leduc
    jayna.holroyd-leduc@ahs.ca
    (403) 944-8222
    Geriatric medicine, dementia and cognitive disorders
    Learn More

  2. I-N

    Zahinoor Ismail
    ismailz@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-6900
    Dementia and cognitive disorders, mental health, neuropsychiatry, depression
    Learn More

    Colin Josephson
    cbjoseph@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-3904
    Clinical decision rules and predictive modelling of interventions for epilepsy
    Learn More

    Julia Kirkham
    julia.kirkham@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 944-1296
    Geriatric mental health, quality improvement, medication prescribing, dementia
    Learn More

    Bonnie Lashewicz
    bmlashew@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4980
    Family support and health, intersectional research, critical theory
    Learn More

    Joon Lee
    joonwu.lee@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2968
    Applying data science to intensive care medicine, aging, and population health surveillance
    Learn More

    Ki-Young Lee
    kylee@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8723
    Neurodegeneration, neural system development and plasticity
    Learn More

    Myles Leslie
    myles.leslie@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-5489
    Health services, patient engagement, elder care, trust in government
    Learn More

    Kenneth Lukowiak
    lukowiak@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-6872
    Causal neuronal mechanisms of learning, memory formation, and forgetting
    Learn More

    Kerry McBrien
    kamcbrie@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-8625
    Health economics and services, chronic disease management, primary care
    Learn More

    Jacqueline McMillan
    mcmilljm@ucalgary.ca
    Frailty, HIV-infected older adults
    Learn More

    Minh Dang Nguyen
    mdnguyen@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-5494
    Neurodevelopmental and neurodegenerative disorders
    Learn More

     

  3. O-Z

    Bruce Pike
    bruce.pike@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4026
    Magnetic resonance imaging, dementia and cognitive disorders, movement disorders
    Learn More

    Marc Poulin
    poulin@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8372
    Mechanisms regulating cerebral blood flow, aging brain, exercise
    Learn More

    Karl Riabowol
    karl@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8695
    Cancer, molecular biology, bioinformatics
    Learn More

    Melanie Rock
    mrock@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-8585
    Human-animal relationships, aging-in-place with companion animals, social justice
    Learn More

    Paul Ronksley
    peronksl@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8820
    Clinical profiles of patients with multi-morbidity, health care utilization and spending
    Learn More

    Dallas Seitz 
    dallas.seitz@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-6867
    Health services, dementia and cognitive disorders, mental health
    Learn more

    Robert Sheldon
    sheldon@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8191
    Cardiovascular autonomic disorders, syncope, diagnosis and treatment strategies
    Learn More

    Eric Smith
    eesmith@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 944-1594
    Vascular contributions to cognitive decline and dementia
    Learn More

    Marcello Tonelli
    cello@ucalgary.ca
    Health care, chronic kidney disease and other noncommunicable diseases
    Learn More

    Ann Toohey
    amtoohey@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-7208
    Human-animal relationships, age-friendly cities, public health ethics and social justice
    Learn More

  1. A-Z

    Hartmut Krentz
    krentz@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4699
    Aging, HIV/AIDS, applied medical anthropology
    Learn More

  1. A-Z

    Jeff Caird
    jkcaird@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8441
    Aging, healthcare human factors, patient safety
    Learn More

    Brandy Callahan
    brandy.callahan@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-7291
    Aging, neurogenerative disorders, neuropsychology
    Learn More

    Richard Dyck
    rdyck@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4206
    Aging, cerebral cortex development, cortical plasticity, neurodegenerative disorders
    Learn More

    Candace Konnert
    konnert@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4976
    Psychosocial aspects of aging, clinical geropsychology, planning for future aging
    Learn More

  1. A-Z

    Alex Bierman
    aebierma@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-6226
    Aging and health, social psychology, religion, military sociology, family
    Learn More

    Naomi Lightman
    naomi.lightman@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-8469
    Immigrants, work and occupation, social inequality, social justice
    Learn More

  1. A-K

    Patricia Doyle-Baker
    pdoyleba@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-7034
    Aging and fatigue, injury prevention, overtraining syndrome, osteoporosis, osteoarthritis
    Learn More

    Sarah Kenny
    kennys@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2770
    Dance, injury prevention, psychosocial aspects of health and sport
    Learn More

    Arthur Kuo
    arthur.kuo@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-7388
    Biomechanics, mobility, prosthetics
    Learn More

  2. M-Z

    Meghan McDonough
    meghan.mcdonough@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-7211
    Physical activity, social relationships, motivation, stress, coping, emotion
    Learn More

    Juan Murias
    jmmurias@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-7955
    Exercise training interventions, cardiovascular function, aging and disease
    Learn More

    Chantelle Zimmer
    chantelle.zimmer@ucalgary.ca
    Physical activity, social predictors and outcomes, motivation
    Learn More

     

  1. A-Z

    Lorian Hardcastle
    lorian.hardcastle@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2038
    Regulation and governance of the healthcare system, public health law and policy
    Learn More

  1. A-Z

    Gwen McGhan
    gwen.mcghan@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2724
    Care of older adults, caregiver outcomes, quality improvement, transitional care
    Learn More

    Kimberly Shapkin
    kimberly.shapkin@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2464
    Nurse practitioner practice, symptom management for older adults
    Learn More

    Shane Sinclair
    sinclair@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2925
    Psychosocial and spiritual issues within oncology and palliative care
    Learn More

    Lorraine Venturato
    lventura@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-6444
    Gerontological workforce development, models of care, frail older adults, dementia
    Learn More

  1. A-Z

    Petronella Hermann
    hermann@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-3573
    Cellular and molecular mechanisms of neuronal aging
    Learn More

    Willem Wildering
    wilderin@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-5283
    Cellular and molecular mechanisms of neuronal aging and neurodegeneration
    Learn More

  1. A-Z

    Ashratuz Zavin Asha
    ashratuzzavin.asha@ucalgary.ca
    Human-computer interaction, virtual reality, autonomous vehicles
    Learn More

    Ehud Sharlin
    ehud@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-9404
    Human-robot interaction, human-computer interaction, interfaces, virtual and mixed reality
    Learn More

  1. A-H

    Victoria Burns
    victoria.burns@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4309
    Gerontology, disability, homelessness, mental health
    Learn More

    Cari Gulbrandsen
    carolyncari.gulbrand@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-4310
    Marginalized older adults, resilience, aging-in-place
    Learn More

    Jennifer Hewson
    jahewson@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-6346
    Age-friendly cities, service delivery, social policy
    Learn More

  2. I-Z

    Yeonjung Lee
    yeonjung.lee@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2031
    Outcomes of caregiving, aging-in-place, long-term care
    Learn More

    David Nicholas
    nicholas@ucalgary.ca
    (780) 492-8094
    Aging, disability, health, mental health, wellness
    Learn More

    Christine Walsh
    cwalsh@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-2274
    Service delivery, elder abuse, social inclusion and support
    Learn More

     

  1. A-Z

    John Brown
    brownj@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 220-6606
    Housing, aging-in-place, home health, mass customizations, architectural entrepreneurship
    Learn More

    Fabian Neuhaus
    fabian.neuhaus@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-3857
    Temporal aspects of the urban environment, aging-in-place, accessibility
    Learn More

  1. A-Z

    Ann Barcomb
    ann.barcomb@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-6631
    Ageism, software engineering, open source, community management
    Learn More

    Sayeh Bayat
    sayeh.bayat@ucalgary.ca
    Artificial intelligence, smart cities, health monitoring, mobility and driving, healthy aging
    Learn More

    Lorenzo De Carli
    lorenzo.decarli@ucalgary.ca
    Smart device security, home network security, cybersecurity for the elderly
    Learn More

    Elise Fear
    fear@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-5413
    Biomedical applications of multi-modality imaging and sensing, aging-in-place
    Learn More

    Svetlana Yanushkevich
    syanshk@ucalgary.ca
    (403) 210-5410
    Biometric technologies, machine reasoning, healthcare monitoring systems
    Learn More