Brenda Strafford Centre on Aging

University of Calgary Researchers in Gerontology, Geriatrics, and Aging

Victoria Burns

victoria.burns@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-4309

Learn More

Social gerontology, poverty, homelessness, addiction, mental health, social policy, social exclusion, and qualitative methodologies.
Ilyan Ferrer

ilyan.ferrer@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-6037

Learn More

Social gerontology: immigrant and refugee issues; intersectionality and life course, and critical and digital methodologies.
Carolyn (Cari) Gulbrandsen

carolyncari.gulbrand@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-4310

Learn More

Resilience and aging-in-place as experienced by vulnerable populations, and particularly older women. Social justice for marginalized older adults.
Jennifer Hewson

jahewson@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-6346

Learn More

Age-friendly communities; social participation, isolation and inclusion; and policies and practices related to program/service delivery in older adult sector
Yeonjung Lee

yeonjung.lee@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-2031

Learn More

Economic and Health Outcomes of Caregiving; Aging-in-place; Long-term Care; Financial Security in Later Life; Psychosocial Risk Factors for Dementia; Cross-National Comparative Study; Quantitative Research
Christine Walsh

cwalsh@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-2274

Learn More

Organization and delivery of services for older adults; social inclusion and social support; elder abuse
Philip Barber

parbarber@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 944-4408

Learn More

Dementia, Structural and quantitative MRI, Pre dementia and fluid biomarkers, Stroke/TIA, Reperfusion Injury, Neuroimaging of of stroke (CT,CTP, MRI)
Reed Beall

reed.beall@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

"Access to medicines; Health and pharmaceutical policy (especially intellectual property); Population health / social determinants of health (inequities); Global health; Health Technology and Impact Assessment; Healthy aging; Healthy cities; social epidemiology"
Emma Billington

emma.billington@ahs.ca

Learn More

Osteoporosis, fracture risk estimation, bone mineral density, person-centred care, shared decision making, vitamin D, dietary supplements, obesity
Veronica Bruno

veronica.bruno@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-7572

Learn More

Global Neurology; Parkinson's disease; Epilepsy; Economic burden of neurological diseases
Darren Burback

darren.burback@albertahealthservices.ca;
(403) 956-2393

Learn More

Geriatric medicine and medical education.
Kirsten Fiest

kmfiest@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 944-0747

Learn More

Epidemiology of psychiatric and cognitive comorbidities (including delirium & frailty) and outcomes in the critically ill. Interests include the relationship between psychiatric comorbidities and chronic neurological conditions, such as epilepsy and multiple sclerosis.
Christine Friedenreich

christine.friedenreich@ahs.ca;
(403) 698-8009

Learn More

Multidisciplinary research program focused on the role of physical activity in the prevention and control of cancer.
Zahra Goodarzi

zgoodarz@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 944-3277 - for research purposes only

Learn More

Major research interests involve knowledge translation and qualitative methods to improve the lives of older adults. Specifically focused on the cross section of mental illness and neurologic diseases; depression and anxiety in those experiencing dementia and Parkinson’s disease.
Bradley Goodyear

goodyear@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 944-8354

Learn More

Developing functional imaging technologies for investigating stroke, Multiple Sclerosis, and Parkinson's disease. Imaging studies include understanding how functional connections in the brain change in the presence of these neurological conditions, so as to better understand these disorders as well as to assess treatment and predict patient outcomes.
Heather Hanson

hmhanson@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

Mobility among older adults, including the maintenance of mobility through physical activity, health promotion decision-making, and the prevention of falls and fractures.
Brenda Hemmelgarn

bhemmelg@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-7065

Learn More

Health services research focus in chronic diseases, including chronic kidney disease; use of administrative and other secondary data sources for health services research; knowledge translation and specifically in bridging the evidence practice gap in chronic kidney disease and related care in the community.
David Hogan

dhogan@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-4578

Learn More

Age associated cognitive impairment and dementia, environmental design for an aging population, falls, frailty, geriatric medicine, gerontechnology, gerontology (specifically age-related changes in physiology), health services for older persons, population therapeutics, social policy (e.g., age-friendly and dementia-friendly communities)
Jayna Holroyd-Leduc

Jayna.Holroyd-Leduc@albertahealthservices.ca;
(403) 944-1771

Learn More

Major research interests involve the use of quality improvement and knowledge translation (KT) science to improve the care provided to older adults. Specific areas of interest include dementia, delirium, and frailty.
Zahinoor Ismail

ismailz@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-6900

Learn More

Collaborating clinician-researcher in the S-CitAD "Escitalopram for agitation in Alzheimer's disease" clinical trial funded by the National Institute of Aging., as well as observational follow up studies of older adults with or without cognitive impairment or neuropsychiatric symptoms.
Colin Josephson

cbjoseph@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

Developing clinical decision rules for epilepsy; predictive modelling of diagnostic and therapeutic interventions for epilepsy.
Kenneth Lukowiak

lukowiak@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-6872

Learn More

Associative learning, long-term memory; stress, predator-detection, lymnaea, neurophysiology, central pattern generator
Bonnie Lashewicz

bmlashew@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-4980

Learn More

Qualitative research about how families navigate and negotiate responsibilities and identities in relation to care for family members who have ability differences and/or mental health issues, with a focus on under-examined topics of ambivalence, decision-making, vulnerability and resilience at the intersection of ability differences, social disablement, health and family.
Joon Lee

joonwu.lee@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

Applying data science to challenging health problems: collecting, curating, processing, and analyzing health data from a variety of sources including electronic medical records, smart phones, wearables, and social media. The aim is to support knowledge discovery, decision making, and health management in a personalized, data-driven way. Primary application areas have been intensive care medicine, aging, chronic disease management, and population health surveillance.
Ki-Young Lee

kylee@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-8723

Learn More

Investigating how Cdks are regulated in the cell and how they function during cell proliferation, differentiation and apoptosis. Specific interests include: (i) examing the role of Cdk5 in neurodenegeration (e.g., Alzheimer's disease); investigating the role of Cdk5 in the peripheral nervous system, particulary in peripheral nerve degeneration and regeneration;(iii) analyzing the molecular mechanisms through which neurite outgrowth is regulated
Myles Leslie

myles.leslie@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-5489

Learn More

Applying the principles of engagement and involvement to real-world challenges in the policy and practice of healthcare. Dr. Leslie’s primary substantive interests are in family eldercare and the technology to support this work, as well as the policy, organizational, and clinical level reforms that are needed to support the delivery of high quality care and wellbeing programs to Canada’s older adults.
Kerry McBrien

kamcbrie@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

Health economics and health services research, with a focus on chronic disease management in primary care.
Jacqueline McMillan

mcmilljm@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

Frailty in HIV-infected older adults.
Oury Monchi

oury.monchi@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-8048

Learn More

Parkinson's Disease; dementia; Neuroimaging; Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS)
Minh Dang Nguyen

mdnguyen@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-5494

Learn More

Basic mechanisms governing brain aging and neurodegenerative disorders
Bruce Pike

bruce.pike@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-9480

Learn More

Development and application of MRI techniques for measuring brain tissue microstructure and physiology; MR guided focused ultrasound for clinical and basic neuroscience research.
Marc Poulin

poulin@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-8372

Learn More

Exercise, cerebrovascular regulation, cognition, and the aging brain, intermittent hypoxia and obstructive sleep apnea
Karl Riabowol

karl@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-8695

Learn More

Cancer and aging, primarily at the molecular and cellular levels, examining epigenetics and telomere biology
Melanie Rock

mrock@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-8585

Learn More

Social justice and pet ownership; aging-in-place with companion animals; dog-walking as a population health intervention for healthy aging
Paul Ronksley

peronksl@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-8820

Learn More

Patients with multiple chronic conditions (multi-morbidity) with a focus on the subset of chronic disease patients that drive health care utilization and spending. Use of data-linkage methodologies to explore the clinical (co-morbid) profiles of patients with multi-morbidity, how they engage with the health care system, and whether care pathways can be modified to improve health outcomes for patients.
Robert Sheldon

sheldon@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-8191

Learn More

Basic and clinical research laboratory which is dedicated to understanding the causes and treatment of cardiovascular autonomic disorders, including loss of consciousness and the second-to-second regulation of heart beats and blood pressure.
Eric Smith

eesmith@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 944-1594

Learn More

Human subject research on the causes of cognitive decline with aging including Alzheimer's disease and vascular cognitive impairment, often using advanced neuroimaging including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).
Marcello Tonelli

cello@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

Improving the care of people with chronic kidney disease and other noncommunicable diseases
Ann Toohey

amtoohey@ucalgary.ca:
(403) 210-7208

Learn More

Age-friendly cities; human-animal relationships and aging-in-place; public health ethics and social justice; qualitative and mixed methods approaches.
Patricia Doyle-Baker

pdoyleba@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-7034

Learn More

Public health, physical activity and aging, health promotion, environmental design, and athletic populations.
Sarah Kenny

kennys@ucalgary.ca;
403.220.2770

Learn More

Dance science research on ‘health for dance’ and ‘dance for health’ with the aim of enhancing the physical and social well-being of non-dance populations, and exploring the impact of recreation and community dance as a form of activity for the general population across the age spectrum.

Arthur Kuo

arthur.kuo@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-7388

Learn More

Human walking, balance and other movements, using engineering principles to bridge between mechanics and biology; mobility of older and impaired individuals
Brian Macintosh

brian.macintosh@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-3421

Learn More

Exploring the ways in which force generation by a muscle can be modulated and the consequences of various disease conditions on fundamental skeletal muscle properties; Working with various populations of human subjects who suffer fatigue, including the aged, in an attempt to find the specific mechanisms of fatigue as well as appropriate therapeutic and rehabilitation procedures to avoid or diminish the fatigue.
Meghan McDonough

meghan.mcdonough@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-7211

Learn More

Health and Exercise Physiology, Social Relationships in Physical Activity for older adults, Physical Activity for Cancer Survivors, Aging, Motivation, Stress, Coping and Emotion
Juan Murias

jmmurias@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-7955

Learn More

Cardiovascular responses to exercise and exercise training interventions in older and young adults
Suzanne Goopy

sgoopy@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-5135

Learn More

Exploring relationships between well-being, health, youth, ageing, culture, and identity; migration; newcomers; walkability, transportation, visual impacts of the built environment, and aging-in-place.
Gwen McGhan

gwen.mcghan@ucalgary.ca

(403) 220-2724

Learn More

The focus of Dr. McGhan’s research is on understanding and improving outcomes for people living with dementia and their caregivers across various settings. Using a person and family centered approach, McGhan’s research includes assessing the caregiving dyad’s resources and preferences for care to develop tailored interventions.
Kimberly Shapkin

kimberly.shapkin@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-2464

Learn More

"Dementia Friendly Community: exercise and cognitive programming; Caregiver Support for People living with Dementia; Supporting proxy decision makers of people with dementia .
Shane Sinclair

sinclair@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-2925

Learn More

Spiritual care; Dignity; Palliative Care; Psychosocial Oncology; Compassion
Lorraine Venturato

lventura@ucalgary.ca@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-6444

Learn More

Current research focuses on the interplay between nursing practice, education and research in gerontology. Focus areas include developing and testing models of care, professional practice models and staffing frameworks for the aged care industry; translational research and practice development in aged care; and quality of care and models of care for people living with dementia.
Elise Fear

fear@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-5413

Learn More

Biomedical applications of multi-modality imaging and sensing, vis. aging-in-place.
Svetlana Yanushkevich

syanshk@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-5410

Learn More

Monitoring and analysis of biometric data (activity patterns, gait) in health care systems; media systems (interviewing systems, contactless human-machine interface) that use biometrics for analysis of users' behavior; machine learning and machine reasoning for biometric pattern recognition and prediction. Applications vis. aging-in-place. Research lab: www.ucalgary.ca/btlab
Petra Hermann hermann@ucalgary.ca Cellular and molecular mechanisms of neuronal aging and age associated memory failure
Willem Wildering

wilderin@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-5283

Learn More

Cellular and molecular mechanisms of neuronal aging and age-associated learning and memory impairment.

Jeff Caird

jkcaird@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-8441

Learn More

Aging, Healthcare Human Factors, Patient Safety, Transportation Human Factors, Traffic Safety

Brandy Callahan

brandy.callahan@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-7291

Learn More

Improving the early diagnosis of dementia in older adults via recognizing early signs of neurodegenerative disease in individuals with complex clinical presentations, including co-morbid medical, neurological, or psychiatric conditions that may increase dementia risk; determining the most accurate methods of assessing cognition and predicting future decline.

Richard Dyck

rdyck@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-4206

Learn More

Aging, Behavioral Neuroscience, Cortical Plasticity, Neurogenerative Disorders, Neuropharmacology, Stroke

Candace Konnert

konnert@ucalgary.ca,
(403) 220-4976

Learn More

Healthy Aging Lab: Aging, Clinical Psychology, assessment, treatment, and prevention of mental health problems in older adults and training in clinical gero-psychology.

Alex Bierman aebierma@ucalgary.ca

Learn More

Social stratification in stress and well-being among older adults; advanced quantitative methods.
Hartmut Krentz krentz@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 955-6314

Learn More

Applied medical anthropology, biological anthropology, primate paleontology, human osteology, Hutterites. With HIV/AIDS, research interests include cross cultural HIV/AIDS illness construction, cost of care issues, epidemiological trends, immigrants, movement and migration (“churn”), intimate partner violence, pill burden and aging.
John Brown(EVDS) brownj@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-6606

Learn More

Housing; aging in place and home health; mass customization; architectural entrepreneurship
Fabian Neuhaus fabian.neuhaus@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 210-3857

Learn More

Aging-in-place, sense of place, accessibility, building culture, habitus and activity, participation, people and technology, place-making
Lorian Hardcastle lorian.hardcastle@ucalgary.ca;
(403) 220-2038

Learn More

Governance and regulation of quality of care in long-term care